As most people who know they have scoliosis will have had an X-ray at some point, I’ve decided to skip over that bit of the surgery process. Instead I will move on to a MRI scan, which is not routine for most scoliosis observation but is mostly required before any surgery.

Why MRI?

An MRI (magnetic resonance imaging) scan is often required as, unlike an X-ray it can provide a surgeon with a 3D visualisation of your spine and internal organs. It does this by using a weak magnetic field to take hundreds of images, each of a different ‘slice’ of your body. For example, it may photograph your topmost layer of skin (e.g. you front if lying on your back) and work down in layers until the bottom most layer (e.g. the back-most part of you that is lying on the bed). These images are then stitched together on a computer to give a 3D image of your body that a surgeon can scroll through to get an idea of how you body looks in 3D space.

mri-spine
MRI Image. Scrolling though images taken at each layer of the body. Available from http://www.imgur.com/gallery/76GDC7h/comment/610529092

 

This technique is particularly useful if, like me you have an associated spinal rotation, as it allows this to be visualised, and as such the surgeon will be able to give an indication of how much this will be able to be improved by surgery. My consultant said he reckoned my rib humps could be reduced by up to 50% during surgery! In addition, he said he would be able to shave off sections of my ribs that protruded the most at the back, improving the look further. This technique however was not viable for the front as it would require a new scar, right across my chest and, as such, any visual improvement would be cancelled out there.

Also, the MRI scan is done to check that you do not have any other associated disorders that may affect your spinal nerves, which run inside the vertebrae of your spine. This is because these may complicate the procedure, and the surgery needs more planning to ensure your safety.

The Procedure:

Prior to my MRI appointment I had to fill in some questions to ascertain whether I was eligible to have an MRI. These included whether I had any metal pins, implants or fragments in my body. This is because the machine uses magnetic waves to generate the images, and the force of the magnet is so strong it could pull you up and into the machine if you have metal inside you. This sounds super scary but don’t worry! If you do have any metal then a different type of scan such as a CT scan may be used, and if you don’t, the machine is totally harmless to you! For the same reason any earrings and jewellery is removed, and spare change and keys taken out of pockets to prevent the from being attracted by the magnet in the machine, and flying through the air. You will probably be given a locker to put any valuables in whilst you go into the scanner.

Following all the questions, you may have to change into a hospital gown for the scan, or you may be allowed to wear your own clothes. Sometimes, the hospital staff will ask you what radio station you want to listen to whilst the scan is done, or may let you play a CD of your own, depending on their facilities.

mri-scanner
MRI scanner. Image from: https://tinyurl.com/zd64rsn

When in the scan room, I climbed up onto the bed and lay down on the bed as instructed. The staff gave me some pillows to put under my back as the scoliosis makes it sore, when flattened out.

They told me I must remain as still as possible during the scan. This is because the machine takes lots of pictures in ‘slices’, and if you move the ‘slices’ will not line up and the 3D picture will not align. Sometimes, if the movement is too much, you may have to do a particular scan again.

Once in the machine you can wear headphones and listen to your music. This does not completely drown out the noise of the machine however, which can be quite loud. This is completely normal and nothing to worry about, although it may get a bit annoying.

The bed will move back and forth inside the machine at various points within you scan as they take scan of your upper and lower back, with front-to-back slices as well as side-to-side slices. Sometimes, the staff will give you instructions though the headphones, or tell you how much time is left.

Overall, my scan took 50 minutes to get pictures of my whole spine. I was a bit stiff when I went to get up but otherwise everything was fine and the scan was very easy, as I only had to lie down for a bit!

Following the scan, my MRI scan was put on a disk. This was because my appointment was straight after, in a different building, however you may not always get your scan given to you. I could keep my scan disk after the consultation as I had no associated problems. This was cool because I could see my scan on my computer at home and look at my spine and internal organs.

IMG_0769
Funky! That’s my liver
IMG_0770
Yep, pretty sure that is meant to be straight!
My wonky back!
This is a cool slice where you can see my arm bones and lungs
IMG_0772
Look at those neck muscles! You can see the muscles on either side are not quite the same here

Therefore, if you do have an MRI, I hope this helps you feel more like you know what will happen, and reassure you this is a very easy scan and nothing to worry about!